It’s Tuesday and we’ve just released the fantastic and amazing “version 1.6” of the software, the anti-climatic culmination of one entire week (read, six days) of staying at work from about 9:00 in the morning until 11:00 at night, a social, psychological, and spiritual sacrifice for a company which I hope will continue to feed me money.

No, I didn’t get any extra money– I’m salaried. Furthermore, my boss comes from the very “old school” style of Internet start-ups (he worked with Netscape in its infancy) and thinks we’ll happily sleep under our desks while eating Ramen noodles for lunch and passionately enjoy every unhealthy minute of it.

Unfortunately, for someone who values her spare time WAY too much– my spare time is my vacation; I haven’t had a “real” vacation for about 10 years– this rigorous schedule is far too demanding and infringing to the point of violation into my personal life.

On the other hand, I hope I made a good impression and that the boss sees my dedication and reward will pay off in the long run– and that’s the truth.

It’s odd– I’ve never felt this way about a company before. Most of my jobs have been short-term, “nine-to-five,” mind-numbing, watch-the-clock-all-day and think about what you’re going to do when you get home-type jobs. This one is a lot different. There’s actually praise, there’s structure, there’s monetary reward, there’s a proven track record … there’s a little bit of bullshit from places but that’s to be expected from people with penises.

It’s 5:30 on Tuesday night and I’m heading to do … drum roll … colonics! I’m pretty apprehensive. The website says, “leave early so you’re not stressed.” Well, too bad– I’m stressed and I don’t really know why. Just general apprehension I suppose. I hate that about me. 😦

