Utter crap. Kkthxbai.

OK, OK, let me qualify that; but first, a little insight and background.

A few weeks ago you read that I had found a company called NYX Cosmetics who sold really inexpensive makeup. Taking my own advice, I ordered two compacts of eyeshadow, lip and eyebrow pencils, and a brush.

A week or so later my order gets here, covered eyeshadow. One of the colors inside of the compacts had literally exploded and leaked out, covering everything in a nice layer of dark chocolate-colored powder.

Even though I was having a very bad week (no, it’s not PMS), I politely wrote NYX customer support, forwarded by shipping information, let them know what had happened, and asked if they could maybe drop a new one (just that color, mind you) in the mail.

No problem, right? You’d think.

A few days went by (check your emails, guys) and I finally get a reply saying that I have to ship the whole thing back USPS First Class mail and they’ll give me a new one.

Doesn’t sound bad, right? Except that these things only cost eight bucks. I’m no mathmetician but I’ll be it costs over $2 to ship this USPS First Class and that’s 25% of the entire cost of the product, not to mention my time, and waiting another two weeks to get it back, possibly exploded.

Needless to say, I’m skipping on that one.

Now, that aside but still present in the back of my mind, I’ve recently been able to actually and finally wear it. Now before I say this, please note that I have Urban Decay’s Primer Potion on the way from Sephora.com, which is supposed to even pop the blandest of colors, so I’m going to give NYX another chance come next week.

I have a nice pink, light brown, and coffee-colored set that I tried today. I can see the pink when applying it (and I do it liberally) but when I turn my eyes away and look back … it’s gone! Yep, that’s right– it disappears.

Yes, my skin is pretty fair, but it’s not -pink- like this. Plus, I moisturized and used a base on my eyes to try to make it show up better.

Nope, no good. The pink doesn’t show, the light brown is too powdery to make any marks, and the coffee-color turns out much lighter than it actually looks.

The exploding color, the disappearing pink, the weak coffee-color … I’m not impressed. I guess you really do get what you pay for.

On the bright side, because I don’t get a chance to get to the mall very much to have a makeover by the Mac ladies, I ordered a bunch of samples from Sephora.com– their own brand. I’m now thinking this might have been a mistake but at the very least I can know which colors to ask for at the MAC counter at Nordstrom where I plan on happily spending as much money as possible for decent cosmetics.

