I dunno about you but the hair on my legs is coarse and horrible, a curse I inherited from my mother who inherited it from her mother. The point is, it runs in the family– god knows how far back– and it’s just something I have to deal with.

As we know there are a million ways to remove hair and despite having so many options there is really just one “right way” for every woman.  What that “right way” is, however, is totally subjective.

Let’s break down the major ways:

  • Shaving
  • Epilating
  • Waxing
  • Chemical

All of these remove hair, yes, but it’s the after-effects that I really have to take into consideration, moreso than cost or pain factors.

Chemical

Rubbing this all over me and standing like an idiot for 10 minutes to have hairless, baby smooth seems too good to be true. I won’t lie to you, it is pretty amazing. What’s not so amazing is how my pores swell up over the next few days and become big, red spots of hate.

Waxing

Too expensive and I sure as hell am not paying some chica $50 to rip off all my body hair. I don’t even have body hair! The wax, itself, is cheap so I’m basically paying for her poor decision to go to beauty school instead of getting a real education.

No offense if you’re a hair dresser.  ❤

Epilating

On the surface this is just like waxing except your tugging them out with a machine. Well, yes and no. It’s more meant for downy hair that can be pulled out by a small breeze. Rough hair like mine breaks off and then buries itself into my skin. Talk about red and angry.

Shaving

Despite its inexpensive effectiveness, shaving sucks all the way around. Unlike the above methods, the hair grows back to an annoying length in just a few days.

In my case, having soft, sensitive skin and not-so-soft hair do not mix.  The razor does a fantastic job of shopping it off even below the skin and therein lies the problem. If I don’t pull the whole hair out, giving my hair impunity to grow where it wants to is a recipe for blotchy legs that would make a muddy youngster stop and tell me I play too hard.

Dry Shaving

The answer for me has been dry shaving. It sounds so, so wrong but it works like a charm and I’m never looking back. Here’s the recipe in a nutshell:

First, I take a shower and exfoliate with the knowledge the the dry shaving will take of any remaining skin;

Second, I use body oil instead of lotion. My current favorite is the Lavender Body Oil from Ole Henriksen. I rub myself down like I’m at my massage therapist and wait a few minutes to let it absorb a little bit;

Third, I take a razor (I’m using the triple blade ones from the grocery store) and being very careful to keep the face of the razor flat on my leg so there’s no possibility I’ll cut myself, I pull the razor up in alternating long and short strokes;

What seems to happen is it cuts off the hair at the skin level so there’s no chance it will change growth direction. I’m good for about a week before I do it again.

Your mileage may very and it took me a few times before I got this just right and now I don’t even get red marks.

