I make them all the time, not just for the new year. It’s pure coincidence that it’s the new year.

I’ll lay it out: I’ve been involved/playing/immersed in World of Warcraft a lot. I’m absolutely fine with this and don’t think it’s a waste of time. Life has shit on me for certain things and WoW– despite it’s engineered addictive qualities– is an outlet in which I can participate and lose myself.

At the same time, I’ve got this nagging urge to read and write. I really believe there are people out there who can benefit from and would enjoy reading what I have to write. Hell, Jocelyn and her friend (name slips my mind) seem to enjoy listening to it, and they’re just two of hundreds, thousands.

Furthermore, what I’m doing currently, programming, is NOT what I see myself doing in the long term. I’m not good at it, I don’t like it, I’m only doing it because I fell into it, something to get me away from jobs that require no higher education, i.e. customer support.

Each day, each year that goes by entrenches me more and more into WoW– socially-engineered game for 16-year-olds– and pigeonholes me into programming for the rest of my life.

Changes happens slowly, I’m well aware of this. Change also happens only with temperance, dedication, persistence, and discipline.

A part of me really believes I can do it. A part of me is scared to death. A part of me rejects all success.

I’m going to buy a Nook. I’m going to buy some eBooks and read them.

The world of publishing has changed. Lulu.com and other self-publishing services–hell, even making your own ePub and sticking it on Amazon– are the future of publishing, reading, and writing.

I don’t know what the future holds and I have NO idea how to approach this save for writing and pressing every opportunity to get it in front of someone. I don’t know what blogs to read, I don’t know whom my audience is, I don’t know where they are.

Happy New Year.

